Website project

In this project for my Vector Graphics class we were tasked with creating a vector website. All of our images and designs had to be vector made in Adobe Illustrator. We had to include notes of how we wanted the page to interact.

I began with some thumbnail drafts of how the page could possibly look.

cRider_website_WFthumbnail

As you can see I had to come up with several variations in order to find something that I was comfortable with.

After creating the thumbnail I created two grid made wireframes.

cRider_website_WF2Sketch

cRider_website_WF1Sketch

These two wireframes were based on my top two thumbnails from the previous sketches. The grid that I drew the wireframes on was self-made in Adobe Illustrator. (If you ever decide to make a grid of your own, I advise creating it with thinner lines than the ones I used. My stroke was at 1 pixel.)

After creating the wireframes, I basically took the wireframe and created a vector rough draft with them.

cRider_website_draft1

My logo was a little rough so I ended up touching it up for the final design.

After the rough draft I began working on the final design. After several hours of creating some vector graphics and placing them into the design I came up with the following designs.
cRider_website_final

cRider_website_final_text

Some of the things that I struggled with was creating the clouds.  I am still not 100% enthused with them but it got to the point to where I had to move on from them and focus on other parts of the design. But more than anything I struggled coming up with an entire website design, logo, and multiple vector designs on the fly. Most of that trouble came from coming up with ideas that I was happy with. I am generally picky about what I put out. So I had to make some compromises with how I would normally go about putting out a project like this in order to save time.

I also hid the notes from these particular views but they are included in my AI file inside of a separate layer.

Website project

Leave a comment