Timepiece Project

In this project for my Vector Graphics class we were tasked with creating a vector timepiece. All of our images and designs had to be vector made in Adobe Illustrator. The objective was to create it as photo realistic as we can.

I began with some thumbnail drafts of how some of the components of a timepiece could look. Going into the project I knew that I wanted to create a watch as my timepiece, so I focused my components on watches.

20151028_224941

The inspiration from my watch came from some of the pins from my Pinterest board that I have included below. There wasn’t one that was entirely responsible for the inspiration of my design. I pulled several concepts from each of them.

d9001c221959e220127e34a788e153c9 cb0ff671f636556920a19705e828e9e7

After sketching some of the components of the watch I began my initial draft in Adobe Illustrator. In this draft I was only able to get some of the initial ideas of my watch. The color scheme of the draft was a little odd, but it was a good start.

cRider_timepiece

Once my initial draft was done I knew that I had some work to do and pulled in some of my adjustments from these watches.

49818cd0c0ade9937d5f743de04f4787 1a12669adeb119dc5956a965ef06e944

And here is my final timepiece.

cRider_timepiece_final

The two areas where this assignment really pushed me was in the organization of my AI file and in the use of gradients. With the organization of the AI file it was immensely important to make sure everything was grouped together in proper layers, and making sure that those layers were in the right order. And with the gradients there was so much to be done. They were what provided the ability for me to add the photorealism to the image. They are also what provided me with the most headaches. They are tricky at best, and if they are done wrong the effect can be catastrophic on your design.

All in all I really enjoyed the project, even though it was time consuming. And I feel proud of what I was able to accomplish with my design.

Timepiece Project

Leave a comment